Richard Vinson survived.

The incumbent Seymour mayor, who just completed his first two-year term of office, scored a narrow victory last Tuesday, June 2, in a three-person race, defeating his closest competitor, William Pogue, by 11 votes.

When ballots were counted late on election day, Vinson received 135 votes.

Next was Pogue with 124, followed by Nadine Crisp with 76 votes.

It was a unique mayoral race in that it featured a trio of candidates currently holding elected city seats.

Prior to election day, Vinson was the mayor, Pogue served as a North Ward alderman, while Crisp served as an alderman in the South Ward.

Oddly, those seats remained the same after election day.

Crisp and Pogue each have one year remaining on their respective two-year terms on the four-person Seymour Board of Aldermen. The board’s other two members are Jim Ashley in the North Ward and Dan Wehmer in the South Ward.

Ashley and Wehmer were elected to two-year seats last Tuesday.

Facing off against challenger Mitchell Owens, Ashley won his race by a margin of 85 to 29.

Wehmer, also an incumbent, didn’t have an opponent and collected 173 votes in the South Ward.

Election results were certified Friday afternoon.

Ashley, Vinson and Wehmer officially will take their oaths of office at the next city meeting later this month.

The only other contested race in the Seymour area featured a trio of seats on the seven-person Seymour R-II Board of Education.

Three incumbents sought three-year terms — Debbie Baker, Bob Crump and Kim Wilkins.

Two of them kept their seats, Baker and Wilkins. Wilkins received the highest number of votes with 386, followed by Brad Leonard at 348. Baker was close behind with 345 votes.

Crump was next at 302, followed by David Herion with 134 votes.

Effective this Thursday at the school board’s regular monthly meeting, Baker, Leonard and Wilkins will be joined on the school board by Ashley Kelley, Stacy Kleier, Josh Wright and Heidi Young.

Kleier is the board’s current president.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.