- vote

When Webster County voters go to the polls on Tuesday, June 2, in an election delayed from April 7 by the national COVID-19 pandemic, there will be a new look.

“It’s still going to be an in-person experience,” Webster County Clerk Stan Whitehurst noted.

“However, we are going to take several steps to keep the (election) judges and the voters safe.”

One of those steps is table-top Plexiglas shields when voters check in to cast their ballots.

Another step is that all election judges will wear masks.

There will be an abundance of hand sanitizer available.

And perhaps most notably, the traditional “I VOTED” stickers have been replaced.

“Instead, voters will receive an ‘I VOTED’ pen,” Whitehurst explained. “Above being an identifier that you cast a ballot, the pen also has two uses.

“The first use is that you can sign in at the polling place to vote using the pen’s rubber tip on one end. The second use is that you actually can vote with the pen in the voting booth by using the end with the ink.”

Once a ballot is cast, the pen is for voters to keep.

Also at the polls will be floor decals, marking the proximities for social distancing.

“The key for us in the June 2 election is that we want voters to feel comfortable,” Whitehurst said.

“We really encourage people to participate in these local elections for city councils and school boards, as well as fire districts. The appearance of COVID-19 in our county, state and nation doesn’t diminish the importance and value of these local races.”

Polls on June 2 will be open from 6 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Whitehurst said polling locations haven’t changed.

In Seymour, voters in the Finley and Hazelwood townships will cast their ballots at the Seymour Nazarene Church, located at 354 North Main Street.

In the Diggins Township, the polling place in the Diggins Community Building, located on South Main Street, just south of U.S. 60.

And in the High Prairie Township north of Seymour, votes will be cast at the Prospect Fire Station. The address is 9850 State Highway C.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.